Cross Promotion: 30 days of Positivity, Part I

I’m cross-promoting my facebook here. In an effort to put something positive into the dirge of social networking, I have embarked on a “30 days of positivity” posting spree. I’ll past them in here as well…

(begin post 1)

I’m pretty much always ambivalent about the Internet. Basically, on a given day, or sometimes even within a given day, I can’t decide whether it is a blessing or a curse. Keeping up with people is a plus and knowing about events and gatherings is good… but the constant flood of complaining, griping, and sniping makes me want to set fire to my computer periodically.

A few weeks ago, I noticed a college buddy of mine (and note, I did not write an “old college buddy”, even though college is somewhat old, because I didn’t want her to think I was suggesting that she is old– see what getting up to in or around 30 will do to your writing!) had a good idea. She posted 30 days worth of things that she is thankful for. Personally, I thought this was a great idea and a nice chance to avoid the cycle of negativity. So I’m stealing her idea.

I am embarking on a 30 day journey of things/people/places that I am thankful for. I’ll hopefully post one of these per day, but if not, I’ll try to catch up.

And so:

1)

I cannot imagine what my life would be like without my wife, Julie. I met Julie in 2000, started dating her in 2001, and married her in 2002. I can say without reservation that, religious decisions aside, there is no better decision that I have ever made, and that I definitely married up.

There are many, many benefits to marriage. None are greater than the fact of acceptance. I am incredibly blessed to know that my wife loves and respects me exactly the way that I am. Of course, this doesn’t mean that she doesn’t get angry with me when I forget to pay the phone bill or leave food in the refridgerator until it turns new colors. But in terms of overall character, it means that I don’t have to apologize for my flaws and shortcomings. It means I don’t have to be anything that I’m not, and that whatever direction life takes me, I know she will be with me.

In the strictly tangible world, my wife is a beautiful lady, an excellent cook, and a snide humorist, who occasionally breaks out with hysterical witticisms (such as the day when she called Dr. Pepper and Mountain Dew “the house wines of the South”).

In the intangible world, she is a thoughtful and spiritual partner. I cannot think of anyone who I would rather have as the mother of my child. Or anyone with whom I’d rather have shared Rally burgers in the impoverished days of law school.

Love and character are life skills which are nearly irrelevant in the spoken form, and invaluable in the active form. The best testimony to our marriage is the times when we have worked through difficulties and struggles. Marriage, like life itself, is ultimately a volitional, intentional act. My wife has chosen to stand by me, and I by her, day in and day out for eight years. I don’t say “thank you” anywhere near enough for that. But today I am. I am humbled and grateful and glad to call Julie my wife. So thank you, Julie. And I’m sorry about the phone bill and the mold covered food in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

