Another outpost of the fried chicken world

Out on business recently, I stopped by the semi-world famous Bon Ton Mini Mart on the outskirts of Henderson, Kentucky, to sample their fried chicken. The good folks at roadfood.com had talked the place up, and circumstance placed me in Henderson. So I took advantage.

George Markham, the proprietor, greeted me. I told him I’d traveled far for his prized chicken. He told me it would take 20-25 minutes to cook. I assured him that was fine, that I knew that good chicken took a little while. The Bon Ton Mini Mart is not a mini mart, and I have no idea what Bon Ton is. It’s basically just a mom and pop restaurant, with excellent kitschy decoration. Mad props to curtains with chickens and frying pans on them.

The chicken was… wow, REALLY, REALLY good. It is perfectly fried. Not too greasy, wonderfully crunchy, flavorful, moist, and brilliant. My love of Prince’s Hot Chicken is well known within anybody who bothers to read this blog. This stuff is just as good. Different, as in not likely to set your mouth ablaze or drown you in grease, but just as good.

George came back to check on me. I heard him disappointedly say, “I haven’t seen him licking his fingers.” I assured his it was REALLY good chicken. Excellent banana pudding too. I gave my compliments to Donna King, the “chicken lady” who whips it all up, and told George I had two questions: 1) When I could make it back and 2) Whether I’d get a half chicken or whole chicken the next time.

Apparently, BTMM is closing in June. So go there. You won’t regret it. And if you can’t go there, here’s the recipe. I know jack squat about frying a chicken, and this looks hard, but if it tastes half as good as theirs does, do it sometime. And save me a piece.

http://www.recipelink.com/mf/14/33518

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Another outpost of the fried chicken world”

  1. dvance Says:

    Call in sick and we will go back to Henderson tomorrow. I am not joking.

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    I would gladly do it… had I not called in sick twice last week. Stupid respiratory infection/bronchial crap.

    But yes, add Bon Ton Mini Mart to the list of places we’ve got to get to. They are open until 3 PM on Saturdays, FWIW.

Leave a Reply

