I join the 21st century

As a birthday gift, I got a shiny, pretty ipod classic, in all its 160 GB glory. It was advertised as holding 40,000 songs. Who has 40,000 songs, you may wonder. I think I do. Actually, I’m sure I do if you count all my bootlegs, with 973 versions of Bob Dylan singing “All Along the Watchtower”. I’m curious to see if I have 40,000 songs that are actually listenable.

Unfortunately, I’m still stuck in the 20th century on my PC, so while I have a 160 GB Ipod, I have 35 GB of hard drive space to use with it. So far, complete Dylan, Beatles and Springsteen have amounted to about 11.5 GB. For my remaining 23.5 GB, I’m thinking Jayhawks, Johnny Cash, Hank Williams, Ray Charles, Buddy Miller, Tift Merritt, a bunch of jazz/blues/old country/rockabilly stuff on the Proper label, and whatever else strikes my fancy.

Whenever I buy a new PC, with a big spacious hard drive, then it truly is on. We’ll see how many times even I can listen to “All Along the Watchtower”.

Joe

2 Responses to “I join the 21st century”

  1. Julie Says:

    Ha! Just don’t make me listen to it. šŸ™‚

  2. Teresa Says:

    Just go to Wal-Mart and buy an external harddrive for like $60. Those things are huuuuuge.

Leave a Reply

