#30- The Crowd Sounds Happy by Nicholas Dawidoff

This book was a memoir about a boy growing up with an insane father and a love of baseball. Frankly, it sounded like a great book. I was excited to read it. The early chapters were poignant and impressive.

And it all fell apart. Sorry about the old man, Nick, but seriously, you were one whiny kid. Maybe my perspective was ruined by the birth of my daughter just before I started the book, but I came away mostly feeling sorry for Dawidoff’s Mom. She kept his less than financially prosperous family taken care of, and appears only to have been rewarded with a pissy attitude and a recitation of her foibles. Seriously, if Dawidoff had griped one more time about (more or less) not having designer clothes in season, I’d have sold back the book, invested in plane fare, gone and smacked him in his overly-sensitive head.

I haven’t learned much in life, but here are two things I’m sure of: 1) Parenting is hard work, 2) Growing up is hard work. Cut the ‘rents some slack. They’re not perfect, you’re not perfect, I’m not perfect. At some point, life is less about the crappy hand that we’re dealt than it is what we can do with it. Dawidoff’s Dad was crazy. His Mom was overworked. I understand his attitude toward the first, but cut the Mom a break. I would.

Joe

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “#30- The Crowd Sounds Happy by Nicholas Dawidoff”

  1. Amy Says:

    Well stated Joe!

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    Thank you Amy. One of the things that has stuck in my craw lately is people who I observe parenting as if their only concern in life is parenting exactly how they wanted to be parented. While it is important to learn from your parents’ mistakes, it is also imporant to learn that a) your kid is not you and b) you are not your parent(s). What didn’t work for you might be as good as gold for your child.

    Anyway, I could write a whole other blog about things that annoy me in parenting, and childing. 😉

    Joe

Leave a Reply

