Another book or two…

#23 The Day that Christ Died by Jim Bishop

The evilness of work subsides for a second and I’ll update you, my loyal and solitary readership, on the 50 new books in 2009 project. I polished this one off at the Kentucky Bar Convention. Bishop is a historian, not a theologian, and it is from this angle that he takes on the last 24 hours of Christ. This is a common theme for him, although his other subjects were the day Lincoln died and the day JFK died. I loved the Lincoln book, but I never read the JFK one. I mean, who knows where the guy on the grassy knoll or the umbrella man were at 8 AM? πŸ˜‰

Anyway, Bishop makes clear early on that he is a believer in Christ, so we don’t have a historian here who is trying to second guess miracles or re-write the story to make Judas Iscariot a hero. Instead, he moves hour by hour through the last day of Christ, utilizing the Bible and whatever other historical accounts will fill in the account. He does take some occasional liberties in the act of telling a story, but don’t all historians?

In any case, the book was very readable, and managed to place the last day of Christ in context well. Learning about the historical and political bent of the time helps explain the events of the crucifiction more clearly than I understood them before. It’s a well-written history. Admittedly, Bishop is guessing about some things and is likely wrong about a few. But like a good historian, he works from what he knows and posits his best guesses about the rest.

Joe

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Another book or two…”

  1. Amy Hilliard Says:

    Read it at the bar convention huh? Must have been more interesting than some of the speakers. πŸ˜‰

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    There were some good speakers, mostly on the first day. I think it’s improving, but it’s hard to find speakers who are interesting to everybody for eight hours per day. And I didn’t actually mean I read it during the meetings, for whatever it’s worth. While I am easy to distract, I try not to be quite that blatant about it. πŸ™‚

    Joe

  3. barboo77 Says:

    I’ll have to check this one out…it sounds right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

