#15 Run It And Let’s Get the Hell Out of Here- Jonathan Rand

Subtitled, the comment of the Doctor who performed my colonoscopy.

Alright, alright. I’ll let it die.

Actual subtitle is “The 100 Best Plays in Pro Football History”

I bought this book because it was cheap and looked easy to read. It was. Jonathan Rand does 2-3 page chapters on his 100 most memorable pro football plays. Out of the 100, I remembered maybe 20 of them. I’m not a giant NFL fan. But it was a fun way to remember the ones I do recall, and to learn about some of the other ones. It also was a good antidote to the other two books I’m working on now, about the Bible and U.S. Presidential speechwriters.

There is plenty more to come. I got a memoir from a Southern man who talks about nearly being killed trying to reclaim the 2 1/2 acres which his father was schemed out of, and which made up his entire inheritance. I got a newish book on Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin, who is a wonderful writer, and Tom Brokaw’s “The Greatest Generation.” There’s another Springsteen book, and a biography of Cawood Ledford, king of basketball radio announcers. I will get to 50 new books in 2009. Maybe.

Joe

Leave a Reply

