Book #10 of the 50 for 2009

10. Portrait of the Writer as a Young Fan by Brian Weinberg

This was a pure impulse buy on a recent book buying spree (far better than a book burning spree… unless you’re cold).
Weinberg was 23 or so in 1996 when UK won its first basketball championship in 18 years (and in my lifetime, if you’re keeping score). He decided to write about it.

Weinberg’s book is pretty simple. He talks basically about two things: that explosive 1996 UK team and its march to the championship and his group of obsessive UK fan friends. Of course, you can’t live in Kentucky and not have some obsessive UK fan friends, so that’s really nothing new. And the basketball isn’t painted particularly well in here.

I somewhat enjoyed the book because it brought back memories of the glory days of probably the best college basketball team I remember. That said, this is a pretty thin book and doesn’t really have much to say. I think I paid about $5 for it. It might be worth a read at that price.

Joe

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Book #10 of the 50 for 2009”

  1. Amy Hilliard Says:

    Is that how you are going to get through the 50 books? Get them as thin as you can? 😉

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    It certainly doesn’t hurt! This particular book was at least around 200 pages. I’m working on one now that clocks in at about 150. There are a couple of 400 pagers looming on the horizon though…

    Joe

  3. Ricky Says:

    “A pretty thin book and doesn’t really have much to say” raves Joe Cox of the Bowling Green Daily News!

  4. eljoe1235 Says:

    Ricky, let me tell you, I calls it as I sees it.

    I did learn some things about the writer given a) my excellent reading for hidden meanings and b) journalistic scuttlebutt, but it’s the sort of thing I can’t post. On the 2% chance that I’m wrong and the 0.00000001% chance that he ever read it or heard about it, I’d get sued.

  5. Ricky Says:

    I hope it’s the sort of thing you can privately email though.

  6. Barbara Says:

    I couldn’t read that book. It would bring back too many traumatic memories. Before 1996 I didn’t care about UK one way or the other. In 1996 obsessive UK fans, one of which I was dating at the time, made me hate UK and obsessive UK fans.

Leave a Reply

