Book #4 of the quest

4. I’m a Lebowski, You’re a Lebowski- by four random guys whose names I don’t remember

The fourth book of the quest for 50 in 2009 definitely qualifies as a little light reading. Four fans of The Big Lebowski pooled their collective minds and work ethics and created a book about all things Lebowski. The book includes interviews with most of the actors from the film, as well as most of the people who underwent the actual events which make up the plot (to the extent that there IS a linear plot) of the film. Also included is a dictionary of Lebowski-speak, a second by second commentary of the movies, information and photos of the various Lebowski Fests over the years.

Probably the best thing about the book is that it made me want to watch the movie again. Every time through Lebowski, I see something I didn’t see before. The movie flat out grows on me, and chances are either a) it grew on you too or b) you’ve never seen this movie and frankly don’t like the idea of it. This is understandable. It’s weird, it makes fairly little sense and is possibly the most profane movie I’ve ever seen (close call vs. Pulp Fiction). But it’s great anyway. Or maybe because of all of these things.

The book is fun. I dig it. I’m not saying it’s life altering or anything, but it’s a fun read and will likely inspire even more Lebowksi viewings. The Dude abides.

Joe

Also, I should note, one particular highlight of the book is that it informed me that in a televised version of the movie, John Goodman’s classic screaming rant where he screams “This is what happens when you (f. expletive) a stranger in the (a. expletive)” was instead rendered “This is what happens when you find a stranger in the Alps.” I have no idea what it means, but it scares me.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

