A little love for my elementary school…

I must be due for a weekly nostalgia post or something. Or maybe it was all the talk about high school reunions, but I don’t want my elementary school to feel neglected in all of this.

There it is– the majestic Burdine Elementary School. It wasn’t until I saw the place that the glorious memories of bygone days came flooding back. A few worth remembering, more or less:

1) Breakfast pizza eating contests in the cafeteria, which would generally go on until someone threw up.

2) Elementary school dances. And elementary school kissing.

3) Making a girl cry. Not related to above. I guess that was the day I learned that girls don’t like to be called “weirdo”.

4) Getting sweet and sour sauce in some girl’s hair. Unbelievably not related to 2 or 3.

5) Splitting my pants open on the jungle gym, which isn’t shown in the above picture (neither the jungle gym nor the split pants). Fortunately also not the cause of #3.

6) Hanging out with Chris Fields, who would patrol the playground with a boombox blaring M.C. Hammer, until a teacher would stop him.

7) Telling my second grade teacher to “shut up”. Not related to #6 (Hammer didn’t come along until 4th or 5th grade). Also not the cause of #3. While tears may have been shed, they were likely mine when I was beaten.

I’m sure there are more, but it was long ago and far away. Just thought I’d share a few vaguely embarassing moments, and a picture of the place where I spent five years learning– often learning things completely and utterly unrelated to any curriculum anywhere, but always learning.

Joe

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “A little love for my elementary school…”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I do realize that this is unrelated to anything whatsoever, but breakfast pizza made me think of this and I thought you might think it’s at least interesting. The other morning for breakfast at work, they served the kids corn dogs. No joke, corn dogs. For breakfast. Allegedly the meat was more sausage-like than hot dog-like, and instead of dipping it in ketchup or mustard, they had little packs of syrup. I don’t know how it stacks up with breakfast pizza, but they are similarly disgusting.

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    Nothing like sausage, lardy breading, and syrup to get your day started.
    Now let the kids compete to see who can eat the most of them and then go have gym class. The flatulence alone will cause evacuation of the tri-state area.

    Joe

  3. Joerg Seitz Says:

    This is a fine blog, Mr. Cox. You are reaching your telos.

  4. eljoe1235 Says:

    Joerg, you seem to be sharing an e-mail address with Ricky.

    I’m sure the real Joerg Seitz is out having another beer with Jim Morrison. And yes, I do think he’s dead, but Seitz probably knows better.

    Joe

  5. Ricky Says:

    I thought for a moment that you meant you think Seitz is dead. I suppose it is possible, but I like to think he’ll hang on until his 90s as long as there are nice looking young women out there for him to inappropriately hug.

Leave a Reply

