Favorite restaurants countdown- #5

The countdown in review:

10. Ollie’s Trolley, Louisville, KY

9. China Express, Middlesboro, KY

8. Louis’, Knoxville, TN

7. Moonlite Bar-B-Q, Owensboro, KY

6. Claudia Sanders Dinner House, Shelbyville, KY

5. Roy’s Pit Bar-B-Q, Russellville, KY

               Call me a homer if you want, but Roy’s is my pick for best barbecue in the world. Roy Morgan has two establishments in Russellville, one which is a shack for carry-out purposes and the other being the main restaurant. It’s the latter you want, although the former is fine if you’re doing carrying (but judging by how few of you live in Logan County, Kentucky, I doubt you would be).

               Roy’s barbecue isn’t too sweet or too spicy. It is more of a ketchup based barbecue than many, and the meat is trimmed very carefully. No surprise big chunks of meat or bone here. The rest of the menu is similarly no frills– baked beans, cole slaw, french fries, catfish, ribs, fried dill pickles, white beans (soup beans, if you’re a southeastern Kentuckian like me), etc. While I’ve only had them a few times, the fresh pies and fruit pies for desert deserve a special nod as well.  Pretty much everything I’ve ever had at Roy’s was tasty and cheap. A heaping plate of food can be yours for the $5-6 range.

                  Roy’s is the sort of place that you could drive by and never know what you would be missing. There’s nothing particularly unusual about the place. Consistent quality is the selling point here, and Roy’s doesn’t often disappoint. Stephen King (yes, THAT Stephen King) dropped by one day, and apparently shared my high assessment of the merits of its food.

                   This is probably the least glamorous pick on my list. But a small-town restaurant that does the things that it does with unusual quality always has a place in my heart, wallet, and ample gut.

Joe

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Favorite restaurants countdown- #5”

  1. Julie Says:

    Yum. I could seriously use some Roy’s right now. Good choice!

  2. Ricky Says:

    Am I the only person that’s pulling for “McDonald’s, Everywhere You Go” to come in #1?

  3. Amy Hilliard Says:

    I’ve never been to Roy’s, but I can’t imagine that it is any less “glamorous” than Ollie’s Trolley. 🙂

  4. eljoe1235 Says:

    Yeah, I guess I misspoke somewhat. Ollie’s does have the uniqueness thing in its favor, while Roy’s pretty much looks like any Mom and Pop restaurant in a metal building by the side of the highway.

    And no, Ricky, the golden arches will not win out. No chains picked actually– although I could do a separate post re: chains that I love.
    Of course, my controversial love of Little Ceaser’s crazy bread might make that one a little more lively.

    Joe

Leave a Reply

