Another blast from the past question

Sorry about the lack of posts, I’ve been in Florida for four days. While there, I found myself wondering about another blast-from-the-past early 1990s issue– or two. I distinctly remember in 1991 or 1992, you HAD to have your jeans “peg rolled”. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you take the jeans at the ankle and pinch them tight about your leg and then roll in small folds, upwards two or three turns. The other phenomenon was silk shirts. I remember owning a couple of those, but a little known fact (I hope) about me is that I perspire like a water buffalo in the Sahara, so it didn’t go so well with me.

The real question here is WHY did we do this? Can anybody cite me any sort of pop culture figure who wore silk shirts and/or peg-rolled their jeans? I was, as with all trends, well behind this one, so I have no idea where it came from. Does anybody?

Joe

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Another blast from the past question”

  1. Amy Hilliard Says:

    This fad is thought to be originated by the fashion icon, Cameron Cole, who was best known for his work with the New Kids on the Block.

    from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tight_rolled_pants

    Scary!

  2. eljoe1235 Says:

    The irony of this revelation is certainly not lost on me. By the early 1990s, when the cool kids of Martha Jane Potter Middle School were using this technique, the NKOTB had long since gone the way of the dinosaur, and for that matter, were frequent gay joke targets. Guess we see who laughed last on this one.

    Joe

  3. Barbara Says:

    I am a tad older than you, but I remember a fad from around the ’89/’90 time period of pants that were called “airport pants”. They were mostly worn by girls. They were knit pants that had these huge wings on either side; you would wrap the wings across your front and fasten them with two buttons just below the waistline. They were very puffy kind of like M.C. Hammer pants, but they came in more refined colors. They were kind of seen as dress pants.

    Anyone else remember these? Anyone? Anyone? Beuler?

  4. eljoe1235 Says:

    As great as they sound, I wish I DID remember them. Of course, you Louisville kids were probably a good year or three ahead of us down in southeastern Ky. As it was a female fashion for the most part, maybe somebody else will remember them…

    Joe

  5. juliekay Says:

    Oh my gosh, I remember airport pants. I was never cool enough to have them though. I had forgotten all about those!

Leave a Reply

