My favorite restaurants countdown, #9

Continuing the series that started last week, I’m going to blog about my ten favorite places to eat. So far:

10. Ollie’s Trolley, Louisville, KY

9. China Express, Middlesboro, KY

              Today’s entry is the ever-typical Chinese restaurant in Bell County, Kentucky. I lived in Middlesboro from age 13-17, and while it’s far from my favorite place in the world, there are some good memories there. Some of them surround this outstading dive of a restaurant.

               I discovered the place more or less by accident. It’s in the back corner of a rundown shopping center (it’s been next to at least three things in the past decade) off of Cumberland Avenue in Middlesboro. The proprietor seems perpetually surly, the decor is a combination of rundown and bizarre, and the food is served on styorofoam with plastic utencils.

                But the rice is tasty and chock-full of meat and vegetables. The sweet and sour chicken comes with enough tasty chicken morsels and sweet red sauce to feed a small army (seriously, my wife and I split a dinner there, and it’s sometimes still too much), and even some of the odder menu options, like crab sticks, have proven themselves quite worthy to me over the years.

                 Over time, I came to appreciate the total lack of aesthetic merit and ambience of the restaurant. It’s not pretty to look at, it’s not in a particularly good location, and there is nothing about the restaurant that will jump out at you. But if you find it, you’ll find it again and again. And you’ll be glad you did.

Joe

By the way, I can still use some insight on the TV post two down (“Your show could be…”). I consider this like voting– if you don’t try to fix the problem, you can’t talk smack about it.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “My favorite restaurants countdown, #9”

  1. Julie Says:

    I love this place! Wish I could have some now…

  2. Teresa Says:

    This is the same place that asked me over the phone if my last name was spelled c-o-c-k-s. Clearly, they are worthy. 😉

Leave a Reply

