Memories or fiction?

I have two clear memories from my youth that everyone who I tell thinks are complete fiction. I’ve decided to ask for help from whatever limited readership I have. Maybe somebody will be searching for confirmation of these experiences at the same time I am.

1) In the late 1980s, I could SWEAR that I ate a pizza at McDonald’s. This was in Norton, Virginia if that helps whatsoever. And no, I don’t mean I went somewhere and got a pizza and took it to McDonald’s. I mean I was served a pizza at McDonald’s. It was basically just a Tombstone pizza that they put on a little platter. Does ANYBODY remember this?

2) In the early 1990s, I remember a chewing gum that was popular and the gimmick was that you could (allegedly) eat the wrapper. As I recall, it was a cinnamon gum and apparently the wrapper was also coated in cinammon and thus tasted like cinammon coated paper instead of just paper. Does anybody remember this? For a bonus point, what in the world was the name of the gum?

 Alright, my pitiful limited readership, justify my faith in you. Prove me right or join in the chorus telling me that I’m just plain wrong.

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Memories or fiction?”

  1. Julie Says:

    You have really, really bogus dreams.

  2. Amy Hilliard Says:

    Ummm, I definitely gotta go with Julie on this one!

  3. Jenna Says:

    I so remember both of those. I had the pizza at McDonalds somewhere in the Southeastern part of Kentucky, I think, since it was on a school trip but it was in the early 90s not late 80s. It was really good and I still sometimes wish they had continued that.

    I don’t remember the name of the gum either but I loved it, even though it really was gross.

  4. Jenna Says:

    P.S. it was cinnaburst gum with the white wrapper not foil

  5. eljoe1235 Says:

    And there we have it. Myspace justifies itself to me because Jenna remembers this too. Should’ve occurred to me that as a fellow southeastern Kentuckian, she would be a likely suspect. But seriously, EVERYBODY looks at me in disbelief about this, particularly the first one. I may have to get Jenna to do a sworn affidavit about McDonald’s pizza, which I could carry with me and show off when challenged. If I’m crazy, at least I’m not the only one!

    Now if we can just find somebody who remembers the name of that gum…

  6. eljoe1235 Says:

    And Jenna goes two for two. My life may be complete. I think I need a moment to compose myself before I can re-enter lawyer world.

  7. Amie Barnes Says:

    I had a pizza at the same Mc’D’s! I had forgot all about that. WOW, that brings back memories! HAHA
    As for the gum, I do remember, but I have a question…… do you remember fruit stripe gum w/ the zebra on it? Whatever happened to that?

  8. eljoe1235 Says:

    This is now four people who have confirmed the McD’s pizza– another came in via myspace. My sanity has been saved.

    I learned via Wikipedia that Cinnaburst apparently went under because of a giant fire at their plant. As for Fruit Stripe (which I certainly remember too), it is apparently still around, if wikipedia is to be trusted. Beech-Nut, which has made chewing gum for aeons is apparently behind Fruit Stripe.
    I remember my little sister loving that stuff.

    Joe

  9. Teresa Says:

    yes… I did love that stuff (and I still do). It still very much exists around here. Of course, in Middlesboro the gum on the shelf is very possibly about 5 years old, so you can’t trust my Fruit Stripe knowledge.

  10. April Says:

    It was timely that you mentioned Cinnaburst gum, when driving through Auburn a few weeks ago and my mind strolled onto memory lane. I remembered walking around town with all the middle schoolers I played basketball with (the mighty Auburn Tigers, of course 😉 )when we had time to kill between school’s end and basketball games. Part of the afternoon would always consist of the Minit Mart, Cinnaburst gum and clear Pepsi. The wrapper did dissolve into the gum but the gum would soon become stiff and very difficult to chew. Actually, the gum with the wrapper didn’t taste as good as the gum without the wrapper (clear Pepsi was pretty much awful, too.) but we were super cool, quite daring, and nearly rebellious chewing our Cinnaburst gum wrapper and all.

Leave a Reply

